Beinn Bhan conditions 22nd Dec 2010

A really short day for me as I wanted to get home in good time. Just to check out some photograpy locations and to see what conditions for ice are like. I have some pics that might be useful, click on the picture then click to view the full size. March hares first pitch looks icy. Silver tear was climbed by Ewen Todd and John Lyall, I didnt even notice them on the picture until John Lyall sent me a reply!. Dormouse Chimney looked ‘in’ if thin. I saw into Mad Hatters from a distance and there is some thin strands of ice. The opposite side of Coire Fhamair from the Giants wall had some ice. ‘The Dwarf Icefall’ and ‘Countdown to Disaster’ , i think? (Blair Fyffe is that a reference to the Coire Dubh Mor mishap?). Snow on the approach is powder and higher up there is soft slab on neve. Merry christmas anyway. It is nearly a year since I broke my leg sledging on Boxing day, so this year im staying in!

This entry was posted in Winter Climbing and conditions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beinn Bhan conditions 22nd Dec 2010

  1. Ewen Todd says:

    Hi Colin
    That’s twice in almost as many weeks that you’ve sneaked up and photographed my ass! I go to these places to get away from the papparazi! Nices shots though. We’ll have to meet someday when we’re not separated by ice. Have a good festive season.

    cheers

    Ewen

Leave a Reply

